advertisement
Encryption News
August 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

'Deepfakes' Ranked as Most Serious AI Crime Threat

Fake audio or video content has been ranked by experts as the most worrying use of artificial intelligence in terms of its potential applications for crime or terrorism, according to a new ...

Sharing a Secret...the Quantum Way

Researchers have demonstrated a record setting quantum protocol for sharing a secret amongst many ...

Atomtronic Device Could Probe Boundary Between Quantum, Everyday Worlds

A new device that relies on flowing clouds of ultracold atoms promises potential tests of the intersection between the weirdness of the quantum world and the familiarity of the macroscopic world we ...

New Approach to DNA Data Storage Makes System More Dynamic, Scalable

Researchers have developed a fundamentally new approach to DNA data storage systems, giving users the ability to read or modify data files without destroying them and making the systems easier to ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:34pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Consumers Don't Fully Trust Smart Home Technologies

Smart home technologies are marketed to enhance your home and make life easier. However, consumers are not convinced that they can trust the privacy and security of these technologies, a new study ...

Quantum Physics Provides a Way to Hide Ignorance

Students can hide their ignorance and answer questions correctly in an exam without their lack of knowledge being detected by teachers -- but only in the quantum ...

Do COVID-19 Apps Protect Your Privacy?

Many mobile apps that track the spread of COVID-19 ask for personal data but don't indicate the information will be ...

Genetic Barcodes Can Ensure Authentic DNA Fingerprints

Engineers have demonstrated a method for ensuring that an increasingly popular method of genetic identification called ''DNA fingerprinting'' remains secure against inadvertent ...

We Believe We're Less Likely Than Others Are to Fall for Online Scams

We believe we are less likely than others are to fall for phishing scams, thereby underestimating our own exposure to risk, a new cybersecurity study has ...

Beyond Encryption: Protecting Consumer Privacy While Keeping Survey Results Accurate

Data privacy laws require encryption and, in some cases, transforming the original data to 'protected data' before it's released to external ...

Tiny Optical Cavity Could Make Quantum Networks Possible

Engineers have shown that atoms in optical cavities could be foundational to the creation of a quantum ...

Faster Way to Replace Bad Info in Networks

Researchers have demonstrated a new model of how competing pieces of information spread in online social networks and the Internet of Things (IoT). The findings could be used to disseminate accurate ...

Chip-Based Devices Improve Practicality of Quantum-Secured Communication

Researchers have demonstrated new chip-based devices that contain all the optical components necessary for quantum key distribution while increasing real-world security. The fast and cost-effective ...

New Sandboxing Approach in Web Browser Increases Security

A powerful new approach to securing web browsers, using a tool called WebAssembly, is getting its first real-world application in the Firefox browser. Developed by a team of researchers, the approach ...

Cryptographic 'Tag of Everything' Could Protect the Supply Chain

To combat supply chain counterfeiting, which can cost companies billions of dollars annually, researchers have invented a cryptographic ID tag that's small enough to fit on virtually any product ...

Mixed-Signal Hardware Security Thwarts Powerful Electromagnetic Attacks

A team has developed technology to use mixed-signal circuits to embed critical information that is suppressed at a lower ...

Computer Servers Now Able to Retrieve Data Much Faster

Computer scientists have found a novel approach that significantly improves the storage efficiency and output speed of computer ...

First All-Optical, Stealth Encryption Technology Developed

Engineers are introducing the first all-optical "stealth" encryption technology that will be significantly more secure and private for highly sensitive cloud-computing and data center ...

Security Risk for E-Scooters and Riders

New research finds e-scooters have risks beyond the perils of potential collisions. Computer science experts have published the first review of the security and privacy risks posed by e-scooters and ...

Organized Cybercrime -- Not Your Average Mafia

Scientists have identified common attributes of cybercrime networks, revealing how these groups function and work together to cause an estimated $445-600 billion of harm globally per ...

'Inconsistent and Misleading' Password Meters Could Increase Risk of Cyber Attacks

With the worst passwords of 2019 now revealed, and technology topping many festive wish lists, a new study assessed the effectiveness of password meters that people are likely to use or encounter on ...

Scientists Correlate Photon Pairs of Different Colors Generated in Separate Buildings

The interference between two photons could connect distant quantum processors, enabling an internet-like quantum computer ...

How Vulnerable Is Your Car to Cyberattacks?

New research applies criminal justice theory to smart vehicles, revealing cracks in the current system leading to potential cyber ...

Storing Data in Everyday Objects

Researchers have discovered a new method for turning nearly any object into a data storage unit. This makes it possible to save extensive data in, say, shirt buttons, water bottles or even the lenses ...

Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Monday, January 27, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Monday, December 9, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Thursday, October 24, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Wednesday, September 25, 2019
Monday, September 23, 2019
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Friday, June 28, 2019
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Thursday, June 20, 2019
Thursday, June 6, 2019
Wednesday, May 29, 2019
Thursday, May 16, 2019
Monday, May 6, 2019
Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Thursday, April 4, 2019
Thursday, February 28, 2019
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Monday, February 25, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Monday, January 28, 2019
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Monday, November 5, 2018
Friday, November 2, 2018
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Tuesday, October 30, 2018
Friday, October 26, 2018
Thursday, October 18, 2018
Monday, October 1, 2018
Thursday, September 27, 2018
Friday, September 14, 2018
Tuesday, September 4, 2018
Wednesday, August 29, 2018
Friday, August 17, 2018
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Tuesday, August 14, 2018
Thursday, August 9, 2018
Wednesday, August 8, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Monday, July 16, 2018
Wednesday, July 11, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Monday, June 11, 2018
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Monday, May 14, 2018
Friday, May 11, 2018
Thursday, May 10, 2018
Wednesday, April 25, 2018
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Monday, March 26, 2018
Wednesday, March 21, 2018
Wednesday, February 28, 2018
Friday, February 23, 2018
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Tuesday, February 13, 2018