advertisement
Computer Science News
August 2, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Simulating Quantum 'Time Travel' Disproves Butterfly Effect in Quantum Realm

Using a quantum computer to simulate time travel, researchers have demonstrated that, in the quantum realm, there is no 'butterfly effect.' In the ...

Quantum Exciton Found in Magnetic Van Der Waals Material NiPS3

Things can always be done faster, but can anything beat light? Computing with light instead of electricity is seen as a breakthrough to boost the computer speeds. Transistors, the building blocks of ...

Researchers Gives Robots Intelligent Sensing Abilities to Carry out Complex Tasks

The novel system developed by computer scientists and materials engineers combines an artificial brain system with human-like electronic skin, and ...

Power of DNA to Store Information Gets an Upgrade

A team of interdisciplinary researchers has discovered a new technique to store in DNA information - in this case 'The Wizard of Oz,' translated into Esperanto - with unprecedented accuracy and ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Using Artificial Intelligence to Smell the Roses

A pair of researchers has used machine learning to understand what a chemical smells like -- a research breakthrough with potential applications in the food flavor and fragrance ...

Recognizing Fake Images Using Frequency Analysis

They look deceptively real, but they are made by computers: so-called deep-fake images are generated by machine learning algorithms, and humans are pretty much unable to distinguish them from real ...

Scientists Identify New Material With Potential for Brain-Like Computing

Researchers have developed a new complex material design strategy for potential use in neuromorphic computing, using metallocene intercalation in hafnium disulfide (HfS2). The work is the first to ...

'Knock Codes' for Smartphone Security Are Easily Predicted

Smartphone owners who unlock their devices with knock codes aren't as safe as they think, according to new ...

Fair Justice Systems Need Open Data Access

Researchers are developing an A.I. platform that provides users with access to the information and insights hidden inside federal court records, regardless of their data and analytic ...

Fishing for a Theory of Emergent Behavior

Researchers quantified the collective action of small schools of fish using information theory. They found that groups of three act very differently compared with groups of just two. This work may ...

Learning More About Particle Collisions With Machine Learning

A team of scientists has devised a machine learning algorithm that calculates, with low computational time, how the ATLAS detector in the Large Hadron Collider would respond to the ten times more ...

Scientists Create New Device to Light Up the Way for Quantum Technologies

Researchers have created an innovative new device that will emit single particles of light, or photons, from quantum dots that are the key to practical quantum computers, quantum communications, and ...

Quantum Classifiers With Tailored Quantum Kernel?

Quantum information scientists have introduced a new method for machine learning classifications in quantum computing. The non-linear quantum kernels in a quantum binary classifier provide new ...

Context Reduces Racial Bias in Hate Speech Detection Algorithms

When it comes to accurately flagging hate speech on social media, context matters, says a new study aimed at reducing errors that could amplify racial ...

Leap in Lidar Could Improve Safety, Security of New Technology

Researchers have developed a new silicon chip with major applications in lidar systems for self-driving cars and smart ...

Making Plastic More Transparent While Also Adding Electrical Conductivity

In an effort to improve large touchscreens, LED light panels and window-mounted infrared solar cells, researchers have made plastic conductive while also making it more ...

Researchers Develop Software to Find Drug-Resistant Bacteria

The program could make it easier to identify the deadly antimicrobial resistant bacteria that exist in the environment. Such superbugs annually cause more than 2.8 million difficult-to-treat ...

Research Reflects How AI Sees Through the Looking Glass

Intrigued by how reflection changes images in subtle and not-so-subtle ways, a team of researchers used artificial intelligence to investigate what sets originals apart from their reflections. Their ...

Teleportation in Live Musical Performance

A new study explains for the first time how quantum supercomputers could be helpful in the world of making and performing ...

Spintronics: Faster Data Processing Through Ultrashort Electric Pulses

Physicists have developed a simple concept that could improve significantly magnetic-based data processing. Using ultrashort electric pulses in the terahertz range, data can be written, read and ...

Study Reveals Magnetic Process That Can Lead to More Energy-Efficient Memory in Computers

Researchers have made an important advance that could lead to more energy efficient magnetic memory storage components for computers and other ...

Team Dramatically Reduces Image Analysis Times Using Deep Learning, Other Approaches

Scientists have devised deep-learning and other approaches that dramatically reduce image-analysis times by orders of magnitude -- in some cases, matching the speed of image data acquisition ...

Analysis of Complex Geometric Models Made Simple

Researchers have developed an efficient new way to quickly analyze complex geometric models by borrowing a computational approach that has made photorealistic animated films ...

Computational Model Decodes Speech by Predicting It

UNIGE scientists developed a neuro-computer model which helps explain how the brain identifies syllables in natural speech. The model uses the equivalent of neuronal oscillations produced by brain ...

Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Tuesday, June 30, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Sunday, June 14, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020