advertisement
Computer Programming News
August 7, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Break It Down: A New Way to Address Common Computing Problem

A new algorithm provides a framework for solving complex linear inverse problems that doesn't require a supercomputer and also enhances security and ...

Power of DNA to Store Information Gets an Upgrade

A team of interdisciplinary researchers has discovered a new technique to store in DNA information - in this case 'The Wizard of Oz,' translated into Esperanto - with unprecedented accuracy and ...

Tech Sector Job Interviews Assess Anxiety, Not Software Skills

A new study finds that the technical interviews currently used in hiring for many software engineering positions test whether a job candidate has performance anxiety rather than whether the candidate ...

Research Reflects How AI Sees Through the Looking Glass

Intrigued by how reflection changes images in subtle and not-so-subtle ways, a team of researchers used artificial intelligence to investigate what sets originals apart from their reflections. Their ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:34am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Using Artificial Intelligence to Smell the Roses

A pair of researchers has used machine learning to understand what a chemical smells like -- a research breakthrough with potential applications in the food flavor and fragrance ...

Recognizing Fake Images Using Frequency Analysis

They look deceptively real, but they are made by computers: so-called deep-fake images are generated by machine learning algorithms, and humans are pretty much unable to distinguish them from real ...

Team Dramatically Reduces Image Analysis Times Using Deep Learning, Other Approaches

Scientists have devised deep-learning and other approaches that dramatically reduce image-analysis times by orders of magnitude -- in some cases, matching the speed of image data acquisition ...

No Keys to the Kingdom: New Single Sign-on Algorithm Provides Superior Privacy

Single sign-on systems (SSOs) allow us to login to multiple websites and applications using a single username and password combination. But these are third party systems usually handled by Big Tech ...

Computational Model Decodes Speech by Predicting It

UNIGE scientists developed a neuro-computer model which helps explain how the brain identifies syllables in natural speech. The model uses the equivalent of neuronal oscillations produced by brain ...

Strainoptronics: A New Way to Control Photons

Researchers discovered a new way to engineer optoelectronic devices by stretching a two-dimensional material on top of a silicon photonic ...

Teaching Physics to Neural Networks Removes 'Chaos Blindness'

Teaching physics to neural networks enables those networks to better adapt to chaos within their environment. The work has implications for improved artificial intelligence (AI) applications ranging ...

Open-Source Machine Learning Tool Connects Drug Targets With Adverse Reactions

Scientists develop AI-based tool to predict adverse drug events. Such events are responsible for some 2 million U.S. hospitalizations per year. The free, open-source system could enable safer drug ...

What Do 'Bohemian Rhapsody,' 'Macbeth,' and a List of Facebook Friends All Have in Common?

A new study shows how vastly complex communication networks can efficiently convey large amounts of information to the human brain. Researcher found that works of literature, musical pieces, and ...

The First Intuitive Programming Language for Quantum Computers

Several technical advances have been achieved recently in the pursuit of powerful quantum computers. Now, Computer scientists have made an important breakthrough in the field of programming ...

Artificial Intelligence Estimates Peoples' Ages

Wrinkles, furrows, spots: a person's aging process is accompanied by tell-tale signs on their face. Researchers have developed an algorithm that interprets these features very ...

Circular Reasoning: Spiraling Circuits for More Efficient AI

Scientists have built new specialized computer hardware that can perform AI tasks more efficiently based on a spiraling 3D architecture. This work may help with the development of energy efficient ...

New Algorithm Uses Artificial Intelligence to Help Manage Type 1 Diabetes

Researchers and physicians have designed a method to help people with type 1 diabetes better manage their glucose levels. The method relies upon artificial intelligence and automated ...

Artificial Intelligence Makes Blurry Faces Look More Than 60 Times Sharper

Researchers have developed an AI tool that can turn blurry faces into eerily convincing computer-generated portraits, in finer detail than ever before. Previous methods can scale an image to eight ...

Engineers Offer Smart, Timely Ideas for AI Bottlenecks

Researchers have demonstrated methods for both designing data-centric computing hardware and co-designing hardware with machine-learning algorithms that together can improve energy efficiency in ...

Artificial Brains May Need Sleep Too

Neural networks that become unstable after continuous periods of self-learning will return to stability after exposed to sleep like states, according to a study of simulated spiking neural networks, ...

New Tool Automatically Turns Math Into Pictures

Some people look at an equation and see a bunch of numbers and symbols; others see beauty. Thanks to a new tool, anyone can now translate the abstractions of mathematics into beautiful and ...

Topology Sheds New Light on Synchronization in Higher-Order Networks

Research proposes a novel 'higher-order' Kuramoto model that combines topology with dynamical systems and characterizes synchronization in higher-order networks for the first ...

Computer Vision and Uncertainty in AI for Robotic Prosthetics

Researchers have developed new software that can be integrated with existing hardware to enable people using robotic prosthetics or exoskeletons to walk in a safer, more natural manner on different ...

Formula May Help 5G Wireless Networks Efficiently Share Communications Frequencies

Researchers have developed a mathematical formula that, computer simulations suggest, could help 5G and other wireless networks select and share communications frequencies about 5,000 times more ...

Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Friday, June 19, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Sunday, June 14, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Friday, March 27, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Monday, March 2, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Saturday, February 15, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Friday, January 10, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Thursday, December 12, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Monday, November 4, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Wednesday, October 30, 2019
Tuesday, October 29, 2019
Monday, October 28, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Monday, October 21, 2019
Thursday, October 17, 2019