advertisement
Communications News
August 2, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Sharing a Secret...the Quantum Way

Researchers have demonstrated a record setting quantum protocol for sharing a secret amongst many ...

Simulating Quantum 'Time Travel' Disproves Butterfly Effect in Quantum Realm

Using a quantum computer to simulate time travel, researchers have demonstrated that, in the quantum realm, there is no 'butterfly effect.' In the ...

Brain Builds and Uses Maps of Social Networks, Physical Space, in the Same Way

Even in these social-distanced days, we keep in our heads a map of our relationships with other people: family, friends, coworkers and how they ...

Which Way to the Fridge? Common Sense Helps Robots Navigate

A robot travelling from point A to point B is more efficient if it understands that point A is the living room couch and point B is a refrigerator. That's the common sense idea behind a 'semantic' ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

COVID-19 Increased Anxiety, Depression for Already Stressed College Students

College students were more anxious, depressed and sedentary during the initial outbreak of COVID-19 than they were during similar academic terms in other years, according to a multiyear study using ...

Twitter Data Reveals Global Communication Network

Twitter mentions show distinct community structure patterns resulting from communication preferences of individuals affected by physical distance between users and commonalities, such as shared ...

Will Telehealth Services Become the Norm Following COVID-19 Pandemic?

Experts address whether the routine use of telehealth for patients with cancer could have long-lasting and unforeseen effects on the provision and quality of ...

Recognizing Fake Images Using Frequency Analysis

They look deceptively real, but they are made by computers: so-called deep-fake images are generated by machine learning algorithms, and humans are pretty much unable to distinguish them from real ...

Scientists Identify New Material With Potential for Brain-Like Computing

Researchers have developed a new complex material design strategy for potential use in neuromorphic computing, using metallocene intercalation in hafnium disulfide (HfS2). The work is the first to ...

Giving Robots Human-Like Perception of Their Physical Environments

New model helps robots understand their environment as humans ...

'Knock Codes' for Smartphone Security Are Easily Predicted

Smartphone owners who unlock their devices with knock codes aren't as safe as they think, according to new ...

Artificial 'Neurotransistor' Created

While the optimization of conventional microelectronics is slowly reaching its physical limits, nature offers us a blueprint how information can be processed and stored efficiently: our own brain. ...

Fair Justice Systems Need Open Data Access

Researchers are developing an A.I. platform that provides users with access to the information and insights hidden inside federal court records, regardless of their data and analytic ...

Chatbots Can Ease Medical Providers' Burden, Offer Guidance to Those With COVID-19 Symptoms

Research finds that chatbots -- software applications that conduct online chats via text or text-to-speech -- working for reputable organizations can ease the burden on medical providers and offer ...

Researchers Find Safeguards for Quantum Communications

Researchers developed a new way to protect and safeguard quantum information, moving quantum networks a step closer to ...

Quantum Classifiers With Tailored Quantum Kernel?

Quantum information scientists have introduced a new method for machine learning classifications in quantum computing. The non-linear quantum kernels in a quantum binary classifier provide new ...

Context Reduces Racial Bias in Hate Speech Detection Algorithms

When it comes to accurately flagging hate speech on social media, context matters, says a new study aimed at reducing errors that could amplify racial ...

Leap in Lidar Could Improve Safety, Security of New Technology

Researchers have developed a new silicon chip with major applications in lidar systems for self-driving cars and smart ...

Research Reflects How AI Sees Through the Looking Glass

Intrigued by how reflection changes images in subtle and not-so-subtle ways, a team of researchers used artificial intelligence to investigate what sets originals apart from their reflections. Their ...

Teleportation in Live Musical Performance

A new study explains for the first time how quantum supercomputers could be helpful in the world of making and performing ...

New System Combines Smartphone Videos to Create 4D Visualizations

Researchers have demonstrated that they can combine iPhone videos shot 'in the wild' by separate cameras to create 4D visualizations that allow viewers to watch action from various angles, ...

Coordinating Complex Behaviors Between Hundreds of Robots

Researchers propose a new approach to finding an optimal solution for controlling large numbers of robots collaboratively completing a set of complex linear temporal logic commands called STyLuS*, ...

Using Cellular Networks to Detect at-Risk Areas for Spread of COVID-19

In the fight against COVID-19, researchers have developed a new, non-invasive strategy to identify areas at greatest risk for spreading the disease. The team is drawing on data from existing cellular ...

Team Dramatically Reduces Image Analysis Times Using Deep Learning, Other Approaches

Scientists have devised deep-learning and other approaches that dramatically reduce image-analysis times by orders of magnitude -- in some cases, matching the speed of image data acquisition ...

Monday, July 27, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Sunday, June 14, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Friday, May 22, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Saturday, April 25, 2020
Friday, April 24, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020
Friday, April 17, 2020
Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020