advertisement
Artificial Intelligence News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

New Theory Predicts Movement of Different Animals Using Sensing to Search

A research team has developed a new theory that can predict the movement of an animal's sensory organs -- such as eyes, ears and nose -- while searching for something vital to its ...

A Computer Predicts Your Thoughts, Creating Images Based on Them

Researchers have developed a technique in which a computer models visual perception by monitoring human brain signals. In a way, it is as if the computer tries to imagine what a human is thinking ...

Security Software for Autonomous Vehicles

Before autonomous vehicles participate in road traffic, they must demonstrate conclusively that they do not pose a danger to others. New software prevents accidents by predicting different variants ...

Future Autonomous Machines May Build Trust Through Emotion

Research has extended the state-of-the-art in autonomy by providing a more complete picture of how actions and nonverbal signals contribute to promoting cooperation. Researchers suggested guidelines ...
Latest Headlines
updated 11:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Autonomous Robot Plays With NanoLEGO

Atoms and molecules behave in a completely different way to macroscopic objects and each brick requires its own 'instruction manual'. Scientists have now developed an artificial ...

An Embedded Ethics Approach for AI Development

The increasing use of AI (artificial intelligence) in the development of new medical technologies demands greater attention to ethical aspects. An interdisciplinary team advocates the integration of ...

Don't Forget to Clean Robotic Support Pets, Study Says

Robotic support pets used to reduce depression in older adults and people with dementia acquire bacteria over time, but a simple cleaning procedure can help them from spreading illnesses, according ...

Cutting Surgical Robots Down to Size

Teleoperated surgical robots are becoming commonplace in operating rooms, but many are massive (sometimes taking up an entire room) and difficult to manipulate. Medical researchers and engineers have ...

Beam Me Up: Researchers Use 'Behavioral Teleporting' to Study Social Interactions

Researchers have devised a novel approach to getting physically separated fish to interact with each other, leading to insights about what kinds of cues influence social ...

Robo-Teammate Can Detect, Share 3D Changes in Real-Time

Something is different, and you can't quite put your finger on it. But your robot ...

Predicting Computational Power of Early Quantum Computers

Quantum physicists have developed an algorithm which helps early quantum computers to perform calculations most ...

Chatbots Delivering Psychotherapy Help Decrease Opioid Use After Surgery

A study showed that patients receiving messages from a chatbot used a third fewer opioids after fracture surgery, and their overall pain level fell, ...

Linking Sight and Movement

Researchers found that image-processing circuits in the primary visual cortex not only are more active when animals move freely, but that they receive signals from a movement-controlling region of ...

Sounds of Action: Using Ears, Not Just Eyes, Improves Robot Perception

People rarely use just one sense to understand the world, but robots usually only rely on vision and, increasingly, touch. Researchers find that robot perception could improve markedly by adding ...

AI System for High Precision Recognition of Hand Gestures

Scientists have developed an Artificial Intelligence (AI) system that recognises hand gestures by combining skin-like electronics with computer ...

Engaging Undergrads Remotely With an Escape Room Game

Researchers describe an alternative way to engage students: a virtual game, modeled on an escape room, in which teams solve chemistry problems to progress and ...

Soldiers Could Teach Future Robots How to Outperform Humans

Researchers have designed an algorithm that allows an autonomous ground vehicle to improve its existing navigation systems by watching a human ...

Quantum Materials Quest Could Benefit from Graphene That Buckles

Graphene buckles when cooled while attached to a flat surface, resulting in pucker patterns that could benefit the search for novel quantum materials and superconductors, according to new ...

Classifying Galaxies With Artificial Intelligence

Astronomers have applied artificial intelligence (AI) to ultra-wide field-of-view images of the distant Universe captured by the Subaru Telescope, and have achieved a very high accuracy for finding ...

How Thoughts Could One Day Control Electronic Prostheses, Wirelessly

The current generation of neural implants record enormous amounts of neural activity, then transmit these brain signals through wires to a computer. But, so far, when researchers have tried to create ...

Randomness Theory Could Hold Key to Internet Security

Researchers identified a problem that holds the key to whether all encryption can be broken -- as well as a surprising connection to a mathematical concept that aims to define and measure ...

Artificial Intelligence to Identify Individual Birds of Same Species

Humans have a hard time identifying individual birds just by looking at the patterns on their plumage. An international study has now shown how computers can learn to differentiate individual birds ...

Soft Robot Actuators Heal Themselves

Repeated activity wears on soft robotic actuators, but these machine's moving parts need to be reliable and easily fixed. Now a team of researchers has a biosynthetic polymer, patterned after ...

Powerful Human-Like Hands Create Safer Human-Robotics Interactions

A team of engineers designed and developed a novel humanoid hand that may be able to help human-robotic ...

Thursday, September 3, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Friday, August 14, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Monday, July 27, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020