advertisement
Artificial Intelligence News
July 12, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Research Reflects How AI Sees Through the Looking Glass

Intrigued by how reflection changes images in subtle and not-so-subtle ways, a team of researchers used artificial intelligence to investigate what sets originals apart from their reflections. Their ...

Teleportation in Live Musical Performance

A new study explains for the first time how quantum supercomputers could be helpful in the world of making and performing ...

Jellyfish-Inspired Soft Robots Can Outswim Their Natural Counterparts

Engineering researchers have developed soft robots inspired by jellyfish that can outswim their real-life counterparts. More practically, the new jellyfish-bots highlight a technique that uses ...

Coordinating Complex Behaviors Between Hundreds of Robots

Researchers propose a new approach to finding an optimal solution for controlling large numbers of robots collaboratively completing a set of complex linear temporal logic commands called STyLuS*, ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:21pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Context Reduces Racial Bias in Hate Speech Detection Algorithms

When it comes to accurately flagging hate speech on social media, context matters, says a new study aimed at reducing errors that could amplify racial ...

Towards an AI Diagnosis Like the Doctor's

Artificial intelligence is an important innovation in diagnostics, but the way these systems work is opaque. In a new article, researchers describe how they can make the AI show how it's ...

Getting Real With Immersive Sword Fights

Sword fights are often the weak link in virtual reality (VR) fighting games, with digital avatars engaging in battle using imprecise, pre-recorded movements that barely reflect the player's ...

Making More Data Available for Training Self-Driving Cars

For safety's sake, a self-driving car must accurately track the movement of pedestrians, bicycles and other vehicles around it. Training those tracking systems may now be more effective thanks ...

The First Intuitive Programming Language for Quantum Computers

Several technical advances have been achieved recently in the pursuit of powerful quantum computers. Now, Computer scientists have made an important breakthrough in the field of programming ...

Artificial Intelligence Makes Blurry Faces Look More Than 60 Times Sharper

Researchers have developed an AI tool that can turn blurry faces into eerily convincing computer-generated portraits, in finer detail than ever before. Previous methods can scale an image to eight ...

Self-Driving Cars That Recognize Free Space Can Better Detect Objects

It's important that self-driving cars quickly detect other cars or pedestrians sharing the road. Researchers have shown that they can significantly improve detection accuracy by helping the ...

World's First Spherical Artificial Eye Has 3D Retina

Scientists have developed the world's first 3D artificial eye with capabilities better than existing bionic eyes and in some cases, even exceed those of the human eyes, bringing vision to ...

Artificial Brains May Need Sleep Too

Neural networks that become unstable after continuous periods of self-learning will return to stability after exposed to sleep like states, according to a study of simulated spiking neural networks, ...

For University Classrooms, Are Telepresence Robots the Next Best Thing to Being There?

Telepresence robots help university students learning remotely to feel more a part of the class, new research ...

'Artificial Chemist' Combines AI, Robotics to Conduct Autonomous R&D

Researchers have developed a technology called 'Artificial Chemist,' which incorporates artificial intelligence and an automated system for performing chemical reactions to accelerate ...

Next-Generation Cockroach-Inspired Robot Is Small but Mighty

Dubbed HAMR-JR, a new microrobot is a half-scale version of the cockroach-inspired Harvard Ambulatory Microrobot or HAMR. About the size of a penny, HAMR-JR can perform almost all of the feats of its ...

New Tool Automatically Turns Math Into Pictures

Some people look at an equation and see a bunch of numbers and symbols; others see beauty. Thanks to a new tool, anyone can now translate the abstractions of mathematics into beautiful and ...

These Flexible Feet Help Robots Walk Faster

Roboticists have developed flexible feet that can help robots walk up to 40 percent faster on uneven terrain such as pebbles and wood chips. The work has applications for search-and-rescue missions ...

A Good Egg: Robot Chef Trained to Make Omelettes

A team of engineers have trained a robot to prepare an omelette, all the way from cracking the eggs to plating the finished dish, and refined the 'chef's' culinary skills to produce a ...

Computer Vision and Uncertainty in AI for Robotic Prosthetics

Researchers have developed new software that can be integrated with existing hardware to enable people using robotic prosthetics or exoskeletons to walk in a safer, more natural manner on different ...

Controlling Artificial Cilia With Magnetic Fields and Light

Researchers have made artificial cilia, or hair-like structures, that can bend into new shapes in response to a magnetic field, then return to their original shape when exposed to the proper light ...

Next Generation of Soft Robots Inspired by a Children's Toy

Buckling, the sudden loss of structural stability, is usually the stuff of engineering nightmares. But, as anyone who has ever played with a toy popper knows, buckling also releases a lot of energy. ...

Artificial Pieces of Brain Use Light to Communicate With Real Neurons

Researchers have created a way for artificial neuronal networks to communicate with biological neuronal networks. The new system converts artificial electrical spiking signals to a visual pattern ...

Comedy Club Performances Provide Insights on How Robots, Humans Connect Via Humor

A robot comic is more funny when it has good ...

Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Friday, June 12, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Monday, June 1, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Friday, May 8, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Tuesday, April 21, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Friday, March 13, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Friday, March 6, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 24, 2020
Friday, February 21, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, February 19, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Friday, February 14, 2020
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Thursday, February 6, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Thursday, January 30, 2020
Thursday, January 23, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Tuesday, November 19, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019