advertisement
Business & Industry News
July 16, 2020

1

2

Top Headlines
 

Tech Sector Job Interviews Assess Anxiety, Not Software Skills

A new study finds that the technical interviews currently used in hiring for many software engineering positions test whether a job candidate has performance anxiety rather than whether the candidate ...

Desk-Based Jobs May Offer Protection Against Poor Cognition in Later Life

People who work in jobs that require less physical activity - typically office and desk-based jobs - are at a lower risk of subsequent poor cognition than those whose work is more physically active, ...

An Ethical Eye on AI

Researchers have found a mathematical means of helping regulators and business manage and police Artificial Intelligence systems' biases towards making unethical, and potentially very costly and ...

COVID-19: Tradeoffs Between Economics and Public Health

A new study uses a variety of data on consumer and business activity to tackle that question, measuring 26 types of businesses by both their usefulness and risk. Vital forms of commerce that are ...
Latest Headlines
updated 12:08pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Freedom of Choice: Adding Value to Public Goods

An experimental game reveals that having the freedom to choose preferred public goods greatly increases their value by motivating more, and better, ...

Socio-Economic, Environmental Impacts of COVID-19 Quantified

How is COVID-19 impacting people and the planet and what are the implications for a post-pandemic world? A new study quantifies the socio-economic losses and environmental ...

Aquaculture's Role in Nutrition in the COVID-19 Era

A new paper examines the economics of an aquaculture industry of the future that is simultaneously environmentally sustainable and nutritious for the nearly 1 billion people worldwide who depend on ...

People More Likely to Donate When Reminded of Own Mortality

New research shows that people are 30 per cent more likely to donate their assets when faced with their own ...

Implicit Bias Against Women: Men More Likely Than Women to Be Seen as Brilliant

Men are more likely than are women to be seen as ''brilliant,'' finds a new study measuring global perceptions linked to gender. The work concludes that these stereotyped views ...

Pregnancy Stereotypes Can Lead to Workplace Accidents

A study of pregnant women in physically demanding jobs found that their fears of confirming stereotypes about pregnant workers as incompetent, weak or less committed to their job could drive them to ...

Global Economic Stability Could Be Difficult to Recover in the Wake of COVID-19 Pandemic, Finds Study

New analysis suggests that the economies of countries such as America, the United Kingdom and Germany should prepare for a long slow recovery with prolonged periods of ...

Helping Consumers in a Crisis

A new study shows that the central bank tool known as quantitative easing helped consumers substantially during the last big economic downturn -- a finding with clear relevance for today's ...

Selling Something? Tap Into Consumer Arrogance

In today's world of consumption, likes and shares, a new study shows that that leveraging consumer arrogance might be marketers' most effective strategy for promoting their brands and ...

Control Over Work-Life Boundaries Creates Crucial Buffer to Manage After-Hours Work Stress

Workers with greater boundary control over their work and personal lives were better at creating a stress buffer to prevent them from falling into a negative rumination trap, says a new study by ...

Three-Quarters of US Workers Can't Work Exclusively from Home, Face Greater Risks During Pandemic

About three-quarters of US workers, or 108 million people, are in jobs that cannot be done from home during a pandemic, putting these workers at increased risk of exposure to disease. This majority ...

Recovery from Airline Delays Works Best With Future Disruptions in Mind

Instead of responding to each flight delay as if it were an isolated event, airlines should consider the likelihood of potential disruptions ahead, researchers report. They developed a new approach ...

Boston Partnership Leverages Local Manufacturing to Quickly Produce Reusable Face Shields

Researchers at a major Boston academic medical center designed, fabricated, tested, and implemented a reusable face shield for front-line medical staff within a couple of ...

Age Discrimination Laws Don't Protect Older Women as They Do Older Men

Older women in the workforce should be considered collectively as a unique demographic group that includes both gender and age if they're to receive adequate protection against workplace ...

To Make a Good Impression, Leave Cell Phone Alone During Work Meetings

New hires especially should keep their cell phones stashed away during business meetings, a new study strongly implies. Researchers have just published an article that finds viewers perceive someone ...

Impact of COVID-19 on Air Transport Sector

Research has assessed the initial impact of COVID-19 on air transport and found that it is likely to lead to a smaller, consolidated sector in the ...

How Stimulus Dollars Are Spent Will Affect Emissions for Decades

The COVID-19 pandemic and subsequent lockdowns have led to a record crash in emissions. But it will be emission levels during the ...

Green Cities Roadmap Touts COVID-19 Recovery Stimulus

COVID-19 has helped add urgency to a call for industry and government to support a plan to ensure Australian cities become more sustainable by adopting green roofs, walls and ...

Slow Easing of Lockdowns May Be Better for Global Economy

A cautious approach to easing lockdown restrictions that reduces the risk of later lockdowns may be better for the global supply chain in the long run, according to a new modelling ...

Balancing the Economy While Saving the Planet

A new research-based framework lets companies make informed decisions balancing economic and sustainability factors when producing ...

Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Monday, January 13, 2020
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Friday, December 20, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Monday, December 16, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019
Thursday, December 5, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Tuesday, December 3, 2019
Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Monday, November 25, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
Thursday, November 7, 2019