advertisement
Business & Industry News
September 29, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Children Will Wait to Impress Others -- Another Twist on the Classic Marshmallow Test

When it comes to self-control, young children are better able to resist temptation and wait for greater rewards if they take into consideration the ...

Being a Selfish Jerk Doesn't Get You Ahead: Study

Two studies provide empirical evidence to settle the question of whether being aggressively Machiavellian helps people get ahead. The studies concluded that being a jerk provides no advantage in ...

Winning the Digital Transformation Race: Three Emerging Approaches for Leading Transition

New research has outlined three new approaches that digital innovators can take to reduce the risk of failure and seize competitive advantage in the ...

When Power Is Toxic: Dominance Reduces Influence in Groups

A new study finds that groups led by subordinate males outperform those led by dominant and aggressive ...
Latest Headlines
updated 3:38pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

What New Research Reveals About Rude Workplace Emails

A new study finds that rude emails at work can lead to significant distress for employees. Researchers say that 'active' email rudeness is overloaded with strong negative emotions. By ...

Researchers Examine COVID-19 Impact on Manufacturing

A new study finds that manufacturing response to COVID-19 has been largely reactive and uncoordinated, and many firms' crisis communication plans do not include managing an infectious-disease ...

Who Is the Weakest Link? A Better Understanding of Global Supply Chains

The COVID-19 pandemic has caused 'kinks' in the movement of goods and services around the globe, but how important a role do multinational companies play in local economies and supply ...

Pandemic Accelerated Remote Work, a Trend Likely to Remain

The coronavirus pandemic has profoundly changed workplaces and the nature of work itself, according to a new article published by an international panel of management ...

Teamwork Can Make the 5G Dream Work: A Collaborative System Architecture for 5G Networks

Scientists explain how collaboration between cloud and network service providers could enable advanced 5G ...

Affirmative Action Incentivizes High Schoolers to Perform Better, New Research Shows

Affirmative action is a contentious issue across the globe, hotly debated in countries such as India, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Nigeria and Brazil, as well as in the United States. While the direct ...

Heating Our Climate Damages Our Economies: Study Reveals Greater Costs Than Expected

Rising temperatures due to our greenhouse gas emissions can cause greater damages to our economies than previous research suggested, a new study ...

COVID-19 Pandemic Likely to Cause Sales Tax Loss for Ohio Municipalities

Small municipalities in Ohio that rely on retail sales taxes from apparel, vehicle sales, restaurants and tourism could see as much as a 50 percent decline in tax revenue because of the COVID-19 ...

New Model for Pricing Carbon Will Help Meet Net-Zero Climate Change Goals

In a new article, researchers introduce a new approach for pricing carbon: Near-term to Net ...

Air Pollution Is a Driver of Residential Electricity Demand, Study Finds

A new study reveals that households respond to ambient air pollution by increasing electricity consumption, which in turn increases the carbon emissions that are co-produced in supplying the ...

New Study Suggests ADHD Like Behavior Helps Spur Entrepreneurial Activity

Many people have experienced a few nights of bad sleep that resulted in shifting attention spans, impulsive tendencies and hyperactivity the next day -- all behaviors resembling ADHD. A new study ...

How Anxiety -- And Hope -- Can Drive New Product Adoption

When considering new products, anxiety creates approach response (i.e., interest, purchase) rather than avoidance response (i.e., disinterest, failure to purchase) when consumers hope for the ...

Business Travel Identified as Driver of Economic Growth

New research finds a direct link between a country's incoming business travel and the growth of new and existing industries. The findings support a Growth Lab hypothesis that moving ...

Evolutionary Theory of Economic Decisions

When survival over generations is the end game, researchers say it makes sense to undervalue long shots that could be profitable and overestimate the likelihood of rare bad ...

Restaurant Customers Frown on Automatic Gratuities, Particularly After Good Service

Automatic gratuities leave restaurant patrons with a bad taste, even when the meal and the service were excellent, new research ...

Make the Best of Bad Reviews by Leveraging Consumer Empathy

When confronted with unfair negative reviews, firms can strategically leverage consumer empathy and benefit from potential downstream ...

How Creating an 'Empathy Lens' Makes P2P Marketing Communications More Effective

Provider-focused P2P marketing communications increase consumers' likelihood of purchase, app download, and willingness to ...

Ergonomics Expert Says Work Smarter at Home

Millions of office workers have been sent home to work remotely in the midst of COVID-19. But how many of them have gotten in guidance or equipment to support good ergonomics. Static posture or ...

Tendency to Select Targeted Retirement Fund Ending in Zero May Impact Wealth

New research shows that selecting a targeted retirement fund that ends in a zero could negatively impact your retirement savings. The study identified a ''zero bias'' or tendency ...

How a Few Negative Online Reviews Early on Can Hurt a Restaurant

Just a few negative online restaurant reviews can determine early on how many reviews a restaurant receives long-term, a new study has found. The study also found that a neighborhood's median ...

Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, August 19, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Saturday, August 1, 2020
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Monday, June 22, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Monday, May 18, 2020
Friday, May 15, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Thursday, May 7, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Monday, May 4, 2020
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Friday, May 1, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 29, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Tuesday, April 7, 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020
Thursday, April 2, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Friday, March 20, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020
Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020
Friday, January 17, 2020
Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Tuesday, January 14, 2020